Preferential tariff treatment on importation into the ESA States

Preferential tariff treatment on importation into the ESA States

Preferential tariff treatment on importation into the ESA States

The European Commission (EC) has issued a Notice 2020/C 176/03 for the information of exporters and other economic operators concerning the application of the EU system for registered exporters (REX system) for exports from the EU to Eastern and Southern African States (ESA States*) within the framework of the EU-ESA interim Economic Partnership Agreement.

This means that from 1 September 2020, products originating in the EU shall benefit from the preferential tariff treatment of the interim Economic Partnership Agreement (iEPA) on importation into the ESA States, upon submission of invoice declarations made out by exporters registered in the EU’s REX system or by any exporter for any consignment consisting of one or more packages containing originating products whose total value does not exceed EUR 6 000.
From 1 September, movement certificates EUR.1 or invoice declarations made out by approved exporters will not be accepted by ESA States.

EU economic operators will have to take the necessary measures to apply the new provisions from 1 September, which also means that a registration in the REX system is necessary. EU operators who are already registered in the REX system shall use the REX number which is already assigned to them.

These changes follow the entry into force on 31 March 2020 of the amended Protocol 1 of the EU-ESA iEPA, concerning the definition of the concept of ‘originating products’ and methods of administrative cooperation.

You can read the entire Notice here.

*ESA states consisting of: Republic of Botswana, Republic of Cameroon, Republic of Guinea, Republic of Kenya, Kingdom of Lesotho, Republic of Madagascar, Republic of Mauritius, Republic of Mozambique, Republic of Namibia, Republic of Seychelles, Republic of South Africa, Kingdom of Eswatini, Republic of Zimbabwe, Aruba, Curaçao, Sint Maarten and the Caribbean part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands (Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba).

More info

If you have any questions at this time, please contact us. We are happy to help you.

More info? I'm happy to talk to you
Quality Manager

Piet Vluggen